Upcoming Myanmar General Elections and Rohingya’s Voting Rights

1 View

  • Start : 2020/07/18 11:00
  • End : 2020/07/18 13:00

Upcoming Myanmar General Elections and Rohingya’s Voting Rights


 The 2020 Myanmar General Election is coming soon. Rohingya were not allowed to vote in the last election despite the fact that Rohingya have been voting and electing their representatives for the parliament since Myanmar’s Independence from the British Colonial Rule.

 The NLD (National League for Democracy) government led by Aung San Suu Kyi has been in power for almost five years. There has been little improvements in terms of peace, stability and human rights situations in the country. Human rights violations against Rohingya and ethnic minorities have worsened under the NLD government.

 In this conference, the speakers will shed lights on why Rohingya must be allowed to vote and elect their representatives for the parliament and provide their voting rights that Rohingya have enjoyed for generations.

Time – 11:00 AM (GMT +1 London)
04:30 PM (Yangon)
Date – Saturday, July 18, 2020

Daw Nilar Myint | Rohingya Activist


  1. Dr. Hla Kyaw | Chairperson, The European Rohingya Council (ERC)
  2. MP U Shwe Maung | Former Rohingya Member of Parliament in Myanmar
  3. Ko Ko Linn | Rohingya Activist
  4. Nyein Chan Aung | Myanmar Activist
  5. Nay San Lwin | Cofounder of Free Rohingya Coalition (FRC)



The European Rohingya Council (ERC) is an umbrella Rohingya organization based in the Europe. The ERC was founded in Esbjerg Denmark on 7th October 2012. Officially registered (KvK 56454791) in Amsterdam,  The Kingdom of The Netherlands. The ERC operates its activities from its operational office in London, the United Kingdom.

Mailing form

    Our Contacts

    B1, Balfour Business Center, 390-392 High Road, IG1 1BF, Ilfort, United Kingdom

    +44 2031500 577

    +44 2031500 577