MEDIA RELEASE: The 4th General Election of the European Rohingya Council (ERC) Announcement



Media Release

The 4th General Election of the European Rohingya Council (ERC)



Frankfurt, Germany: The 4th General Election of the ERC was successfully held in Frankfurt, Germany on September 2, 2018. The election was organized by ‘Hand 4 Burma’, Germany. The aims of the election were to elect the new council members from each of the European countries and the new executive body for the next two years. Rohingya delegates from different European countries participated and shared their views and ideas for the ultimate interest of Rohingya around the world.


After announcing the agendas and procedures of the election, the responsible members from the previous executive body and previous council members presented their activities in the past two years. The ERC treasury presented the details of ERC’s bank account for the past two years.


After dissolving the previous team of board of trustee (BOT), council member and executive body, the General Assembly unanimously selected an Election Team. Then, new members of the ERC were welcomed. The new members from each country elected at least one new council member. The ERC council formed a new BOT. As per constitution, the new council members elected the executive body consisting of chairman, vice-chairman, and general secretary. The executed body formed different secretariats, approved by the Council and BOT.


The election result was finally pronounced successfully and the authority was handed over to the new elected body, which will run day-to-day activities with utmost honesty, integrity and transparency for a period of two years.



The ERC Team

Board of Trustee

  • Khairul Amin (Chairman of the Board of Trustee)
  • U Hla Tin (Denmark)
  • Zahedul Haque (Netherland)


The Council

  • Germany: Hussain Azmi and Dr. Muhammed Iqbal
  • Netherland: Dr. Hla Kyaw, Ataur Rahman and Mohammed Ilyas
  • Republic of Ireland: Mohammed Rafique and Haikal Mansor
  • Norway: Mohammed Farooq
  • Sweden: Abul Kalam
  • Belgium: Eng. Mohammed Haroon
  • France: Haroon Yousuf
  • United Kingdom: N. Hosein
  • Denmark: Khairun Nisa
  • Switzerland: Dr. Anita Schug


Executive Team

  • Dr. Hla Kyaw (Chairman)
  • Dr. Ambia Parveen (Vice-Chairman)
  • Haikal Mansor (General Secretary)



a. Media Team

  • Mohammed Ibrahim (Team Leader)
  • Mohammed Rafique
  • Anita Schug
  • Mohammed Farooq
  • Mohammed Ilyas


b. Treasury

  • Khairul Boshor
  • Mohammed Ilyas


c. Education

  • Hussain Azmi
  • Mohammed Iqbal
  • Khairul Boshor
  • Hosein
  • Ataur Rahman
  • Ahmedullah


d. Technical Team

  • Haroon Yousuf
  • Ataur Rahman


e. Documentation

  • Haikal Mansor
  • Mohammed Rafique


f. Women and Children Affairs

  • Dr. Anita Schug
  • Dr. Ambia Parveen


h. Humanitarian Affairs

  • Khairul Boshor
  • Mohammed Ilyas
  • Abul Kalam
  • Hussain Azmi
  • Haroon Yousuf
  • Dr. Muhammed Iqbal


For more information:

Haikal Mansor

General Secretary

The European Rohingya Council

Mobile: +353857692758


THE EUROPEAN ROHINGYA COUNCIL [ERC] is an Amsterdam based European umbrella organisation in Europe.